RSS Feed

Mexican Chocolate Cake

Posted on

Image

I am so happy that taking pictures of food has become socially acceptable thanks to instagram and the like. I use to get some seriously strange looks from people when I’d whip out my camera to take pictures of my food before eating it. I don’t blame them though… I’ll be the first to admit that it is kind of strange. I’ll be sitting there, watching my food get cold as snap millions of pictures that basically look the same after a while (there, I admit it). But I can’t help it, and I don’t really mind, because I find food to be artistic and quite frankly, pretty. Like someone who loves shopping and gets a new shirt or a gamer who buys a new video game system, food, eating out, and cooking makes me happiest. It’s a hobby that I also get to eat- win win!

I’ve been laughed at by waiters, yelled at by the French when taking pictures of pastries in Paris (that still haunts me), and if I had a dollar for every time a family member told me to “quit taking pictures and eat already”, I might be able to afford my own KitchenAid mixer. However, now thanks to social media and peoples obsession for letting others know what they’re doing every waking moment of their lives, I can happily say that I haven’t been laughed at, stared down, or yelled at by anyone lately. My parents still roll their eyes at me though. It’s almost acceptable.

I’ve been trying to figure out for a while now, with no avail, as to why this cake is considered “Mexican”. Perhaps it could be because cinnamon is added, but cinnamon is not native to Mexico. I’m assuming that cinnamon is common in Mexican cooking, but then again my “Mexican” food experience is limited to an enchilada, Taco Bell, and a churro I ate in my 10th grade high school Spanish class.

 
Image

So, feeling a little brave, I decided to add cayenne pepper to my cake batter to add a little heat. Cayenne pepper isn’t Mexican either (shh, don’t tell anyone), but it added a amazingly tasty, yet very subtle kick to the sweetness of the chocolate cake. It won’t have anyone running to the tap, but it will have your test tasters curiously intrigued on what’s making this “seemingly ordinary chocolate cake” a bit different.

The cake was incredibly moist and easy to make, as was the glaze. I always love adding nuts to a cake because the extra crunch adds a wonderful difference to the otherwise one dimensional softness. That, and the pecans just make it look way fancier.

So be brave! And add a little heat to your cake.

Image

Mexican Chocolate Cake
Adapted from Ruf Love

INGREDIENTS

Cake
1 cup unsalted butter
½ cup cocoa powder
¾ cup water
2 C sugar
2 eggs
1 C buttermilk (or put 1 tsp lemon juice in 1 cup container then fill remainder with milk)
2 Tbls vanilla extract
2 C all-purpose flour
1 tsp baking soda
1 ½ tsp ground cinnamon
½ to 1 tsp cayenne pepper (depending on your personal tastes)
¼ tsp sea salt

Glaze
1 C pecans (optional)
½ C unsalted butter
¼ C whole milk
½ C cocoa powder
2 C sifted powdered sugar
1 Tbls vanilla extract
¼ tsp sea salt

DIRECTIONS

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Grease a 9″ tube pan or 10-12 C Bundt pan with non-stick spray or use Baker’s Joy. For cupcakes, line standard-size muffin pans with muffin wrappers and spray with non-stick spray.
  2. Melt the butter in a large saucepan over medium-low heat. Add the cocoa and whisk until smooth. Add the water and whisk until smooth. Be careful not to boil the mixture. Remove the saucepan from the heat.
  3. Add the sugar, eggs, buttermilk and vanilla to the warm cocoa mixture. Whisk until smooth.
  4. Add the flour, baking soda, cinnamon, cayenne pepper and salt. Whisk until dry ingredients are completely incorporated.
  5. Pour the batter into the pan. If using muffin pans, fill each cup 2/3 full.
  6. Bake for 40-45 min; the cake is done when it has pulled away slightly form the sides of the pan and feels firm to the touch. For cupcakes, check for doneness after about 20 min.
  7. Let the cake cool in the pan for about 20 min. cupcakes need only a total of 10 min cooling time.
  8. Meanwhile, make the glaze. Arrange the pecans on a baking sheet in a single layer and toast them in the 350 degree oven for 7-9 minutes, until golden brown and aromatic. Chop the pecans.
  9. Melt the butter over low heat in a medium saucepan. Add the milk, cocoas, and powdered sugar and whisk until glossy. Remove the saucepan from the heat and whisk in the vanilla, salt, and pecans.
  10. Loosen the cake with a knife or spatula and overturn it onto a seving plate. Spoon the glaze over the cooled cake, covering it thoroughly. For cupcakes, remove them from the pan, and peel off the paper liners. Invert each cupcake onto a small serving plate and cover with glaze.

Image

8 responses »

  1. o my this looks to die for! The glaze with pecan looks amazing.

    Reply
  2. Gorgeous looking bundt cake! I made a bundt cake the other day (my first one) and it sort of fell apart because I didn’t grease it properly :(, there were tears.

    I still get weird looks taking photos of anything when I’m outside! I ignore it now though, because I kind of really get into it and just block it out 😉

    Your cake actually reminds me of Mexican hot chocolate which is nice and spicy.

    Reply
  3. What a gorgeous cake! I love it. So rich and decadent. Pinned!

    Reply
  4. This Mexican chocolate cake looks awesome!

    Reply
  5. This cake was delicious (although we didn’t bother with the glaze, just served with whipped cream). We substituted ground chillies for cayenne and it was lovely. Great recipe, will definitely be making this again.

    Reply
  6. Made this morning-looks and smells amazing!!! Bringing to a Mexican potluck this afternoon!

    Reply
  7. Made this over the past weekend— it is great! Very chocolate, very moist, and super easy to make— an excellent chocolate cake recipe. I will be using this as my basic, go-to chocolate cake recipe from now on…. The pecans are delicious in the chocolate frosting. I used about 3/4 tsp of cayenne; which I think is good, but I will probably leave it out next time. Thank you for the post!

    Reply
  8. This is a great recipe… made it twice now for special office potlucks. Didn’t do the glaze… just buttercream frosting with 1-2 teaspoons cinnamon in it… everyone loves it! So glad I found this on Pinterest!!!! Thank you, thank you, thank you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

