RSS Feed

Chive, Cheddar, and Cayenne Biscuits

Posted on

Deep in the jungle that is my recipe box lives a piece of paper so tattered and stained, it’s an eyesore to anyone who sees it. Vegetable oil is splattered across the face of the text, with two giant splotches over the recipe title. The paper itself is slightly tanned and heavily creased from continuous folding. To some this may be a paper that needs to be thrown away asap. But to others it’s a sign of a really, really darn good biscuit recipe.

These biscuits cause symptoms such as attacking the plate, stealing another biscuit while simultaneously shoving one into your mouth, hiding extras strategically behind the ketchup bottle, or finding yourself strangely sad when you hear your brother ate the last leftover. Generally you will find yourself craving for them randomly. Simply put, I love these biscuits. Sometimes I wonder what my life would have been like if this ugly piece of paper never entered my life. I’d probably be eating Bisquick biscuits, which aren’t bad, but when I think of Bisquick I think of pancakes.

My backyard has chives growing in the back like weeds. It’s been there since I was a little girl, a  patch rising up out of the dirt, with dew that always seems to be sprinkle over it. When I was younger my brother and I use to enjoy tricking the other neighborhood kids into thinking we were eating grass. I felt so clever, chomping into the delicately flavored onion to the horror and disgust of the kids who thought I must be part cow.

I no longer trick younger kids into thinking I’m eating grass, but instead have found to enjoy its existence in my backyard. The chives bring a nice, calm background note into the biscuits, and the cayenne brings a subtle kick to a generally simple biscuit. Whether you dress them up or just eat them plain, I am not kidding you, these biscuits are amazing.

Let me just say that several more times for emphasis.
Amazing. Amazing. Amazing.

Chive, Cheddar, and Cayenne Drop-Biscuits
Adapted from a recipe from my ninth grade cooking class
Makes around 9 biscuits

  • 2 cups flour
  • 3 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 3/4 cup sharp cheddar, shredded
  • a handful of chives, chopped
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1/3 cup vegetable oil

Sift the flour, baking powder, salt, and cayenne into a large bowl. Combine the cheddar and chives with the dry mixture. Pour the milk and vegetable oil over the dry mixture, then stir until just combined.

Spoon onto a baking sheet. Bake at 475 degrees for 11-13 minutes.

2 responses »

  1. i hope there are some left for me….

    Reply
  2. What a lucky girl you are to have a garden full of chives! These biscuits look SO delicious and very easy… I think they’d be great with a BBQ meal!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

