RSS Feed

French Toast with Apple Syrup

Posted on

Mother’s Day gifts are difficult on a jobless teenager’s wallet. There are the classics, flowers and a sappy card gushing about how much your mother is needed (which is true, not denying it), or the funny ones that claim our lives would be ruined without our mother ruling the household (also true). There’s $3.99. Then a bouquet of roses, the price jacked up especially for the holiday, $29.95 for a dozen flowers. Next thing you know, your pockets are empty and your beautiful arrangement of flowers are dying on the counter.

Now I’m not saying that flowers are a bad gift. I’d be more than happy to give my mother flowers for Mother’s Day. But I realized that taking the time to cook something shows just how much you care, and how thankful you really are. And although my mom and I can have our differences, I truly am thankful everyday for what she has done for me. From driving me back and forth from soccer practice, doing my laundry most of my life, helping me with my sea of college papers, and catering/humoring my love of animals by allowing me to own various pets, as well as train guide dogs. (If you’re reading this though Mom, I’m still hoping one day you’ll allow me to own rats!) She really is a super mom plus more.

French toast is something I use to have a lot of as a kid, but I don’t really eat it as often anymore. But anyone can make french toast. So I decided to make it special. I made apple syrup.

And let me tell you, this was good. I mean, the kind that makes you stop and think after your first bite, take in the warm cinnamon and soft, fluffy inside with it’s crisp brown top. Pause, only to grab your fork yet again and cut into it wide eyed.

The apples really made it though. There’s something about apples and cinnamon that are just the world’s most perfect match. Plus, they make the house smell amazing, which is an added bonus. It could probably be put over anything- pancakes, crepes, ice cream… oh my.

French Toast with Apple Syrup
Makes 6 slices and around 1 1/2 cups of syrup

For French Toast:

  • 6 thick slices of bread
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/3 cup milk
  • 1 tsp cinnamon

For the Apple Syrup:

  • 1 apple, peeled and cored, sliced
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 Tbsp water

Beat eggs, milk, and cinnamon together in a shallow dish. Soak the slices of bread, one at a time, in the egg mixture, leaving it in for a few seconds to allow the bread to soak up some of the mixture. Melt butter in a large skillet on medium high heat. Place as many pieces of bread as possible in skillet and cook until browned on both sides.

In the meantime, place the sliced apples, sugar, cinnamon and water in a small saucepan on medium high heat, stirring to combine. Once it begins to boil, turn heat down to low/medium low and let simmer for 10 minutes. Spoon over French Toast and add butter and maple syrup if desired.

Note: The syrup isn’t actually a syrupy consistency, more like a sauce.

2 responses »

  1. yum
    i like toast but have a small prob with the french!!

    Reply
  2. Emily, you’re so right… a homemade gift is the most thoughtful – and inexpensive – way to go, and even better when it comes from the kitchen. This looks totally decadent! I love the idea of apple syrup… so creative!

    Reply

Leave a comment